UCL: UEFA explains why Ajax goal against Real Madrid was cancelled

European football governing body, UEFA has explained why Tagliafico’s goal for Ajax against Real Madrid in the Champions League round of 16 first leg was disallowed.

Shortly after the final whistle in Real Madrid’s away win at Ajax, UEFA explained the decision to overturn Nicolas Tagliafico’s first half goal for the hosts. Dusan Tadic was in an offside position and though he didn’t touch the ball, the official ruled out the goal after consulting VAR.

The rule outlines that a player can be deemed offside without touching the ball if he prevents and opponent from playing, or being able to play, it. “In the 38th minute of the Ajax v Madrid first leg, Nicolás Tagliafico’s headed goal was ruled out following a VAR review,” read a tweet by UEFA’s official Champions League account.

“The referee identified that Tagliafico’s team-mate Dusan Tadic was in an offside position and interfering with the goalkeeper – preventing him from playing or being able to play the ball – as the header was being made. This was in line with VAR protocol and the goal was correctly overturned and a free-kick given for offside.”

preventing him from playing or being able to play the ball – as the header was being made. This was in line with VAR protocol and the goal was correctly overturned and a free-kick given for offside.uefa

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s